Edinburgh Comedy Awards: Dr Brown, Josie Long, James Acaster, Tony Law, Claudia O'Doherty and Pappys nominated

Tony Law
Printer-friendly version

Dr Brown, Claudia O’Doherty, James Acaster, Josie Long, Tony Law and Pappy’s have been nominated for the Fosters Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2012.

Dr Brown, who had been given a large number of five-star reviews from the Edinburgh Fringe this year is joined by perennial nominee Josie Long as well as up-and-coming comic James Acaster who had been tipped for the newcomer prize in 2011.
Audience favourite Tony Law is also nominated for the first time, Law has won a number of awards in the last twelve months, including the Amused Moose Laughter Award and Best Breakthrough Act at the Chortle Awards, and has continued to impress with his latest Edinburgh show, Maximum Noonsense at The Stand. 
Ben Target, Joe Lycett, Daniel Simonsen, David Trent and Sam Fletcher have been nominated for the Best Newcomer awards. 
Speaking about the awards Nica Burns, producer of the Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards said: "The nominees sum up an extraordinarily inventive year for comedy at this year’s Fringe. The shows demonstrate all the comedic art forms -  standup, mime, sketch and multi-media experimentation. The performers are all immensely charismatic and often thought-provoking whilst being extremely funny. Two excellent nomination lists."
The full list is as follows:
Claudia O’Doherty – The Telescope (Underbelly, Cowgate)
Doctor Brown –Befrdfgth  (Underbelly, Cowgate)
James Acaster – Prompt (Pleasance Courtyard)
Josie Long: Romance and Adventure (Pleasance Courtyard)
Pappy’s: Last Show Ever!  (Pleasance Dome)
Tony Law Maximum Noise (The Stand Comedy Club)
The nominations for Foster’s Best Newcomer are:
Daniel Simonsen – Champions (Pleasance Courtyard)
David Trent – Spontaneous Comedian (Pleasance Courtyard)
Discover Ben Target (Underbelly, Cowgate)
Joe Lycett: Some Lycett Hot (Pleasance Courtyard)
Sam Fletcher – Good on Paper (Bannermans)


Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

This year it seems to be

This year it seems to be afiar nomination have been done and we expect a tight competition as all those who are nominated had performed well and outstanding. cheapest cable Very eager to watch who owns comdey awards this year. Thanks for sharing.

Good Topic

Surely, I will vote for Dr. Brown. He had performed well in various movies and he deserve this award. I am eagerly waiting to know who all are the winners. Hope that you will update it after announcing the result. 1942 tequila

This season all those good

This season all those good comedian artists were nominated for the Comedy award. I guess this is going to be a tough competition thi year as all of them had shown wonderful performance in the nominated movies. Tony Law is my favoritye among them and I guess he will get the most poll from audience. 

55 mobile home parks

I hope that Dr. Brown is the

I hope that Dr. Brown is the right person to get the award this time. He has appeared in lots of movies this year and my vote for Dr. Brown. So I am very much excited to hear the names of the winners. Keep sharing! IT managed services Honolulu


I just could not depart your site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back often in order to check up on new posts article writer

The nomination is a good one.

The nomination is a good one. That I what makes them go for more, with awards like this one. This is one of the funniest modern day era type of comedy. I am very sad to know that the whole thing is going to close. - Kavin Austin Blake

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.